two-fer

Balancing your budget is a funny thing, isn’t it? You never seem to have enough money, no matter how many extra hours you work or how tightly you budget. And it’s easy to get frustrated when you’re tired of being anything but fabulously wealthy.

But tonight I had a moment when it hit me: yes, money is tight, but it will only be tight for two more days, until I get paid. 6 months ago, we would have had less money than we do right now, and we would’ve had to make it last at least another week.

I’m grateful for my job.

And I’m grateful I’m good at my job. I’ve been told twice in the past two days (once by a patron, once by a coworker in another department) that I’m the friendliest person at the circ desk. That I’m “just what that circulation desk needed.” It’s so reassuring to be given genuine compliments for the work I’m trying to do, to know that people are noticing. I feel like I’m in the right place.

This entry was published on January 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm and is filed under money, skills. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

