Training Plan

In 22 weeks, I am running a half marathon.It will be the longest distance I’ve ever run, and I’m both terrified and thrilled by this. Mostly terrified. But also really, really thrilled.

So I did what I always do when I’m terrified of something: I made a plan. What I didn’t count on was my training plan scaring me nearly as much as the thought of a half marathon does. I’m definitely going to be working out more, with only one rest day a week. The good thing is that 2 days in the week are cross-training days–which can be a walk or a bike ride, and neither of those things are particularly exhausting for me. (And more good news, both of those things are really fun).

The plan! My training week starts on Monday (deep breath), and it looks something like exactly like a Hal Hidgon Novice plan:
Mondays: Strength & Stretch. I’ve gone totally bougie and hired a personal trainer to work with me 6x/monthly. I’m pretty excited about it and am convinced I’ll be able to bench press a bear come September.
Tuesdays: Run. I’m starting with the Bridge to 10k plan and will move on to Hal Hidgon’s Novice half-marathon plan after that. I’ll run in a hilly area on either Tuesdays or Thursdays (’cause Asheville’s got hills, y’all).
Wednesdays: Cross-training for about 30 minutes. This will either be a walk or a bike ride. If it’s a bike ride I’ll probably go longer than 30 minutes because I look fabulous on my cruiser.
Thursdays: Running and Strength.
Fridays: A rest day!
Saturdays: Another cross training day. Walking or riding my Huffy!
Sundays: Long run days once Hal kicks in.  During B10K it will just be the 3rd day of the running week.

I’ll try to check in here every week and post my workouts. Not gonna lie. I’m hoping to lose some (more) weight doing this.  But I also want to benchpress a bear. That would be fun. Ooh, benchpress a bear while riding my Huffy. That would be even better.

This entry was published on April 20, 2012 at 11:15 pm and is filed under running, self-loving, skills. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Training Plan

  1. I start my half marathon training on May 7th and I’m super excited but really nervous, too! I’m using the Hal Higdon Novice plan as well 🙂 Good luck to you! I’m sure you’ll do great both with training and on race day!!

Leave a Reply

